Five TSM Music Boxes as Animated Stereos

Five TSM Music Boxes as Animated Stereos
Walls and floors by Lama at The Medieval Smithy

Category: Electronics -> Audio
EPs Required: None – base-game compatible
Poly Count: Low poly (848 – 912)


Update, 6 Feb, 2019: Meduza has updated these to have NL/BV/Pets/FT functions. Thank you for doing what I should have done ages ago! ❤


I love the TSM music boxes, I think they’re adorable, and so I really wanted to convert them and make them functional (read that: turn them into stereos. ‘Cause I cheat like that in my medievalish ‘hoods). Problem was, I knew for a fact this was something that had been done before, and I don’t like to repeat what somebody else has already done if I can help it. So, like Ol’ Blue Eyes I did it my way, and turned them into stereos… with custom animations. 😀

When the music box is turned on (do you turn on a music box?), the lid opens, and the figurine appears and starts rotating. It will obligingly keep on doing so until you turn the music box off; then the figurine disappears again and the lid closes. But you don’t have to take my word for it – see for yourself:


So. The music boxes. 🙂 The first one is the ‘Crazy King Kronenberg’ Music Box for $150.

‘Crazy King Kronenberg' Music Box
 
Then we have the ‘The Passion of Lovers’ Music Box seen spinning around above, for $205…

‘The Passion of Lovers' Music Box
 
…and the ‘Pixie’s Lament’ Music Box for $210. This one is my favourite, it reminds me a little of this music box with a ballerina I had when I was little. 🙂

‘Pixie’s Lament' Music Box
 
There is also the ‘Prancing Pegasus’ Music Box for $215…

‘Prancing Pegasus' Music Box
 
…and last, but not least, the ‘Werms Warble’ Music Box for $220.

‘Werms Warble’ Music Box
 
For all five music boxes, the velvet (felt, whatever it is) inside has three recolours: the original red, blue and green. Unfortunately the catalogue thumbnails will just be three identical (closed) music boxes; even though I’ll happily do custom cameras, I’m not quite brave enough to attempt custom thumbnails – sorry. 😦 The recols will always be in the order red-blue-green, though – or, you can simply hold off with the recolouring until you’ve turned the music box on and the lid is open. 😉

Inside Recolours
 
Also, since these are medieval music boxes, Sims can’t very well use a plastic remote with little green lights to turn them on and off – that would be too anachronistic, even for me. 😛 So you get an invisible remote to go with them.

Invisible Remote

This remote is not a default replacement, though, so it can coexist peacefully with any default replacement remotes you might already have in your game. But you do need to have it in your game, otherwise you’ll get an error the moment you try to turn a music box on. But the remote is only 12 polys and the file less than 4 kB, so I’m confident your computer can handle it. 😉
 

20 thoughts on “Five TSM Music Boxes as Animated Stereos

    • GLAD YOU LIKE ‘EM! 😉 I’m really happy with how they came out. But I feel like I’m getting dangerously close to filling my quota for things that go ’round and ’round, this is the fourth or fifth object I’ve made that just… well, goes ’round and ’round 😛

    • You sweetie, Nonni, thank you! ❤ I'm really happy with how they came out – and the nice thing about them is that they aren't that medieval, (I think) several of them works in contemporary games as well.

      BTW, I took the liberty of putting your link to Affinity back in, just in case others want to check it out. 🙂 Aksimet (the WordPress spam checker) is a bit twitchy when it comes to links in comments; sorry about that. It’s supposed to just hold the comment for moderation if it has less than two links, but sometimes it gets ahead of itself and don’t let the comment through at all. 😦

    • Glad you like! 😀 I’m really happy with them. What can I say, I like to make things that go ’round… and ’round… and… 😛

  1. Johanna, I need a little help. But I am not sure how to contact you. ‘Course you know where I am at Affinity. Hope to hear from you soon. Hugs!

    • Glad you like them! And thanks for commenting. 🙂

      No, I hadn’t seen that thread. Guess the OP obviously didn’t think the issue was that urgent, since they never bothered to come here. (It’s not as if they didn’t know where to find me – they linked directly here!) Why some people assume that Random Person on the Internet knows more about an object rather than its actual creator, I’ll honestly never understand. :/ And in this case, Random Person on the Internet was wrong. 🙄 Well, they were right that I didn’t add the custom station option, but wrong as to why; I didn’t leave it out because of compatibility (it was a valiant guess, though, I’ll give them that) – I simply forgot about it, since I almost never use it myself. 😳 I should probably fix it, at some point when I don’t have as much on my plate. Thanks for pointing it out, though!

  2. I so thought I had commented on these Nix but I haven’t and considering they are one of my must have most used items in game, then it’s highly rude I haven’t commented and told you how great they are! They also might crop up ALOT in my build and decorating contest entries. So thank you for such fantastic, useful pretty objects that I just can’t live without!!

    • You sweetie, thank you! Super glad to hear you like them, of course. ❤ (Confession: I always get this silly grin on my face when I see my stuff in people's screenshots. I mean, I can tell from my stats that people download my stuff, but that doesn’t mean they actually use it in game, let alone that they think it’s decent enough for contest entries. So hearing you say that makes me go :mrgreen: .)

      But hey, I’m absolutely lousy at commenting on your entries (but I’m going to go fix that right now), so I’d say it more than evens out. 😳

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.