Signet Rings for Hat

Rings for Hat

Seeing the signet rings I made a little while back, that lords wear on the little finger and ladies on the middle finger, Almighty Hat wished for index finger rings, and/or for little finger rings “for ladies who handle their own correspondence.” Hat is somebody I totally fangirl (srsly, she’s solely responsible for about 2/3 if not more of the CC in my medieval game), so of course I had to comply with her wish.

So. Hat (and everybody else) – have some signet rings, v. 2.0. :mrgreen:

As requested, both lords and ladies get index finger rings and little finger rings. Like before, the rings are for YA/adult to elder and come in gold and silver, for both hands. (I’m lazy, so you only get pictures of the left hand here, but the right-hand ones are in evidence in the title pic.) Note that the silver rings actually are a little lighter than they are in the pictures; I decided to go with a different silver envcube for the shiny, but of course I didn’t think of it until after I’d taken the screenshots.

 
The signets look the same as on my other signet rings, with a lion rampant for the gold ring and a wolf’s head for the silver one:

Seal Close-ups

 
You can have these rings either as accessories or as BV jewellery – but you can only have one of them in game. By design, the accessory rings can only be worn one at the time. With the jewellery ones, though, your Sims can potentially wear all four rings at the same time (this because I didn’t want to bin them all for the same finger since that could mess with other rings you want your Sims to wear, but also have no idea how else to tell the game that “you can only wear one of these”). I’ll let you decide how feasible this would be. πŸ˜›

While both variations have custom icons in CAS and when you change your Sims’ appearance, for some reason they won’t show up for when buying from a jewellery stand – then you’ll get the infuriatingly non-descript bald head of accessories instead. I don’t know how to get around this, sorry.

UV maps have been included with both .zips, as well as a readme with some instructions for recolourists. πŸ™‚
 

14 thoughts on “Signet Rings for Hat

  1. Yay more things for me to download and recolor eighteen bazillion times! (Okay, a minimum of seven and possibly as many as nine times.) Thank you so much! It’s ridiculous how much I love new projects.

    I haven’t bought anything from a BV jewelry stand in so long (sold from, sure) that I had no idea the thumbnails weren’t of hands. Doesn’t that make buying even Maxis rings a tricky proposition? … Especially buying Maxis rings, due to lack of tooltip?

    • You’re very welcome! I hope you have fun with them – and I’m looking forward to your recolours. πŸ˜€

      Oh, the Maxis rings do get hand thumbnails, it’s my custom ones that failed. Don’t know why since they display just fine everywhere else. 😦

      • I shall indeed have fun with them! So far I know I’m making: Red with a tower and a gold band, red with a stag and a silver band, green with a harp and a silver band, green with a dragon and a gold band, blue with a boar and a silver band, black with a unicorn and I think a gold band (I need to look at my unicorn again), purple with a crowned lion and a silver band, and I’m still working on colors for my churchy heraldry but the device is praying hands under a plumb bob.

        … That’s weird. I wonder if it has anything to do with the custom icons? (Can’t think why it would, but you never, ever know with Maxis coding. Ever.)

        • Oooooh! So many pretties to look forward to! :mrgreen: Can’t wait to see them!

          Yeah, probably/possibly, but I’ll be darned if I can understand why. Even stranger, when I tried removing everything custom icon-related from a package in hopes that it would force the game to generate its own thumbnail, I still got a head instead of a hand, even though the game and I were otherwise in agreement that it indeed was a ring. Yeah. I got nuttin. πŸ˜•

          Ah well. At least the custom thumbs show up in CAS and in the mirror, so you can tell what you’re putting on your Sim. You just can’t tell what you’re buying for them. πŸ˜›

  2. Yay, now I can have a more-accurate Sim-me! πŸ™‚ Thank you for going through more screenshot pain. πŸ˜‰

    • LOL, you’re welcome! πŸ˜€ But yeah, I think these will be the last rings I’ll make in a while, I’m a bit fed up with trying to take screenshots of hands. πŸ˜‰

  3. Your creations are always top-drawer and safe for my game. I really am so excited that you added the rings for index and ‘pinkie’ fingers. I can understand about screen shots, seems like staging a screenshot takes more time than creating. I always appreciate and admire a good presentation. Thanks for all, Johanna!

    • Aww, thank you, Nonni! Yeah, sometimes the screenshots do take longer, and/or are trickier, than the actual creation of the item. But know that when I download something, I want to be able to see what I get – so I want my downloaders to be able to see what they get, too. Even if it’s painful. πŸ˜‰

      It would have been much easier if I could have made the screenshots in Bodyshop, but that didn’t really work for these (close-ups + lack of antialising = no). So the close-ups of the hands are all made with the Sim practising speech in a mirror and having a “light-bulb moment” – you know, that gesture where they first tap their lip thoughtfully, and then throw up their left hand and go “Eureka!” (well, in Simlish πŸ˜‰ ). That hand gesture was perfect for showing off rings. πŸ™‚

  4. Thank You! I have never too much BV jewellery! Accurate rings for period hoods! This is great πŸ™‚ And I agree that taking pictures is the worst part of creating CC. If I could NOT taking pictures, I would create much more things, for sure. I still have some items made and didn’t share because of… taking screenshots pain. Blah. So congratulations for these beautiful screenshots You made, they are showcasing the items perfectly πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you like them! πŸ˜€ And thank you so much for your kind words about the screenshots, they brought a big smile to my face. They were a major pain in the behind to set up, so it makes me very happy to hear that they work. ❀

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.