Swords for Morgaine

Swords for Morgaine

Update 27 July, 2016: In case your Sims don’t like to run around all day with their swords unsheathed (I mean, you can poke somebody’s eye out like that. Or your own), ocelotekatl @ Blue Heaven Sims has made great completer set with scabbards for these! :mrgreen:


When she saw my posebox with accessory swords, Morgaine – the brilliant author of The Chronicles of Albion – wondered if it would be possible to turn the swords into the kind of accessories your Sims put on in a mirror, so you could use them with other poseboxes and animation boxes as well. Since Albion is one of my favouritest (that is too a word!) Sim stories ever, of course I accepted the challenge. πŸ˜€

The swords have all been extracted from TSM, so much as I’d like to I can’t take any credit for the meshes or textures.

As you may have guessed from the title image, these swords are for both genders and for both the left and the right hand (so your left-handed Sims won’t have to fight with their off hand). They can of course be worn together with other accessories – including with each other, so your Sims can hold one sword in each hand in case they’re feeling doubly belligerent.

Extra Belligerent
 
Unfortunately, hand-held accessories tend to look not so much like they’re being held in the hand, but more like they’re… glued to the palm. πŸ™„ We can’t have that, of course, so I made a mini-posebox to make the Sims’ hands grasp the sword properly.

Hand Pose

Note that this only poses the hand; the rest of the Sim is free to walk, run, jump rope or do whatever else you want them to do. (I’m not sure why they would jump rope holding a longsword, but they’re your Sims. πŸ˜‰ ) If you use the hand poses together with another posebox, the results may vary depending on what that other posebox is doing with the Sims’ hands, but together with animations, the hands stay posed. The poses are “one size fits all”, though, so for some swords there may be a little clipping, while the grip may be a little large for others. You’ll only notice this if you zoom in very closely on the hands, though.
 

On to the swords! First we have two wooden swords. At first these were only for children (no, they’re not getting real longswords πŸ˜› ), but by request I’ve now made them for all ages, including toddlers. Your toddler Sims get little mini swords, but child – elder get full-sized ones.

Child Swords

Toddler

Your grown Sims won’t have to make do with just wooden swords, though – they get real longswords as well. There are ten in total; nine of them are for teen to elder, one is for adults only. Since I play TSM in my native Swedish I don’t know what the swords’ English in-game names might be, so I’ve simply given them their TSM file names:

And then we have the final sword. This is the one that is just for adults and elders – because trust me, you don’t want your teens handling this. If you’ve played TSM and got the Darkness Unleashed achievement, you’ll recognise it: it’s the Cursed Doomsword. It will cut through enemy armies like butter… but it will also consume your soul in the process.

…Of course, if you don’t have a soul, this isn’t an issue. 😈

Doomsword. Run!
Thank you, Morgaine, for letting me borrow Mr Cray-cray! πŸ˜‰

Now, I don’t know about you, but it drives me ever so slightly bonkers when I’m putting accessories on my Sims and all I have to work with is a number of bald and utterly non-descript heads (that may or may not have tooltips which may or may not just be the creator’s URL). So for the sake of my sanity and yours, these swords have custom icons in game and in CAS (but not in Bodyshop) – and of course, they also have descriptive tooltips.

In-Game Icons
 
So. In the .zip file below, you will find a folder with twelve subfolders: one for each sword. This isn’t because I want to annoy you with a bazillion subfolders, but for ease of deletion. This way, if there are any swords you don’t want, you can just delete their subfolders and get rid of both meshes and recolours at one fell swoop. πŸ™‚
 

Download

25 thoughts on “Swords for Morgaine

    • Hee, you’re very, very welcome! I’m so glad you like ’em! πŸ˜€ And thank you again for letting me borrow Mordred; like I said, he’s really the only Sim who could model that sword successfully. πŸ˜‰

  1. Oooooh, these are lovely! AND THEY HAVE LEFT-HANDED OPTIONS!! I can never find anything for left-handed Sims (making them only left-handed in my head canon… well, not any more!). Thank you! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you! V. glad you like them! πŸ˜€ I’m left-handed IRL and at least one of my story Sims is as well, so there was no question there had to be swords for your leftie Sims. πŸ™‚

    • You’re welcome! I’m happy I could fill a void in you Downloads folder. πŸ˜€ (But my dog is wondering why she’s hearing a noise coming from my Tumblr dash. ;))

  2. Boingy, Boingy, Boingy!!! (Me jumping around with excitement) I’ve been needing wooden practice swords for kids in my hood! And the hand pose box is brilliant, too! Oh, is the wooden sword for other age groups, too? (My guards still need to practice in their down-time)

    • Hee! Glad you like ’em; I’m thrilled they are such a hit. πŸ˜€ Right now the wooden swords are for children only, but I can easily make them for teen – elder as well. Just give me a day or two. πŸ™‚

  3. In my search for snow globes, I was directed to your site. And happy to have been! When on a site never before visited, I naturally began to peruse your wares. Oh yes, and very fine wares indeed. Thank you for these swords AND Posebox… and your other poseboxes, as well! I could kiss you.

    • Why, thankee, good sir! It pleases me greatly that you like my humble offerings. πŸ˜€

      That little snow globe is one of my greatest hits – which is funny, because it was one of those things that I made just because I made it and no more reason than that. Then again, ideas like that, that just crop up in your head for no apparent reason, are often the ones that come out the best, or at least it is for me. πŸ™‚

    • You’re very welcome. πŸ˜€ The little Simlets in my game wanted swords, too, so they could be just like daddy and big brother (but again I thought it seemed to dangerous to give them longswords), and it seemed mean to refuse them. πŸ™‚

  4. D: D: D: D:
    OMGGGGGGGGGGGG
    I love youuuuuuuuuu *0*!!!!
    OMGGGG, I was wondering where to get a wonderful sword and here it is, and “they” are !!!!
    For the little kids, awwww are so adorable XD!!!
    I will use yours for sure in my story, putting your credits of course. Thank youuuu *0*!!!!
    Woo woooooo, really thank youuuuuuuuu >w<!!!!

    • You’re welcome! I’m so glad you like them, and that you’ll find use for them! πŸ˜€

      You might be interested to know that I have another set of accessory swords in the works (also converted from TSM); these ones are sheathed and worn on the hip. I’ve just started, though, so I can’t say exactly when they’ll be finished, but it should be… some time this year? Watch this space, as they say. πŸ™‚

      • Yes they are, I have used the… Cursed Doomsword for a… how to say that in english @^@?? *go and search for it*, I guess it is “Picture” XD!!!, and it looks awesomeeee *0*!!!…
        Waaaaaaaaa, of course I am interested in know what are you doing :3 … sorry I do not know how to use this sites at all u_u … but I am glad you have commented me πŸ™‚ … yes, whenever you can continue doing it it is fine, I hope to see it when they are available and say thanks and hug you again X] … Success!!!

        • Yay! I love that sword, it looks so evil. 😈 You can tell that whoever is wielding it means business.

          I’m hoping the swords will be finished sooner rather than later. It’s always easier to get inspired to get on with it when I know that someone besides myself will be interested. πŸ˜‰

    • *grins* 😈

      Just so you know, there are more sword things on the horizon. :mrgreen: In the meantime, I trust you’ve seen my training dummies (Hobbies -> Exercise in the menu to the right)? I especially recommend v. 2.0 and 2.5, I’m quite proud of those. πŸ˜€

      • Ooooo….I thought I had enough. πŸ™‚ 2.0 and 2.5. Got it and own it! lol Take care my friend.

  5. This is fantastic, what an incredible job. I know it might be the wrong place, but would you have any idea if someone made these swords for The sims 3? I like it a lot and I have been looking for a long time.

    • Thank you! Very glad to hear you like them. πŸ˜€

      Unfortunately, I don’t know whether anybody has made these for TS3; I don’t play TS3 myself, so I have extremely poor knowledge of TS3 CC. Sorry. 😦

      Having said that, if you want to convert them for TS3 (or have someone else do it), please feel free! For my TSM conversions, my TOU are basically “do whatevs”, so… do whatevs! πŸ™‚

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.