The Brazen Brazier

The Brazen Brazier

Category: Lighting -> Misc.
Cost: $250
Poly Count: High poly! (2,200+)
EPs Required: None – base game compatible

It’s not easy, being a Sim in Westeros: As if it weren’t enough that winter is coming, the night is dark and full of terrors to boot. To get through, your poor Sims obviously need something that can both keep them warm and keep away those white-faced, blue-eyed things that don’t just go bump in the night. You know, like a good brazier.


The Brazen Brazier (that I admit isn’t very brazen at all – but the number of adjectives starting with “braz-” in the English language is rather limited, you know) comes in two colours, brown and black:

Brazier Recolours

From Above
Seen from above

It can be used both outdoors and indoors and it can also be placed on locked tiles like pavements, just in case you want to use it as a streetlamp.

This brazier doesn’t just light up the night, though. πŸ™‚ When the fire is burning (but not otherwise), your Sims will have the option to warm their hands, like Melisandre the Sim in the title pic, which will increase their comfort.

Menu

Also, as you can see I’ve changed the pie menu so that instead of “Turn On” and “Turn Off”, in English it says “Light” and “Douse”. I don’t know about you, but I’ve never come across a fire that you could turn off. πŸ˜›

Attention! In addition to being high poly, this brazier uses effects (the fire), which are heavier to render than animations. So if you’re on a slow, graphics-challenged computer, this object might not be for you – especially not on big, heavy lots.
 

Download

10 thoughts on “The Brazen Brazier

    • Fancy meeting you here. πŸ˜‰ And thanks! There might be an update in the near future, though, because I think I want this to have a “view” option as well. You know, for the Sims who are closet pyromaniacs and like to watch pretty flames. πŸ˜›

  1. What a fabulous creation! You are really refining your skills. Cool animations and wonderful texturing, also.

    • Thanks! Glad you like it. πŸ˜€ It took some wrestling to get the mesh the way I wanted, but I’m quite happy with how it turned out. Like I said to Warpcrab above, though, I might update it to have a “view” option as well, so Sims can look at the pretty fire. πŸ™‚ It will be a while before that happens, though, if it happens; I’ll be away for about a week, so I’m on my notebook right now. (It does have the base game installed, but its tiny screen really wasn’t made for Sims modding – running SimPE on it is downright painful.) Stay tuned, as they say. πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! This was one of those “I don’t know if anybody will want it, but I want to make it” things. And I’m quite proud that I actually managed to add eight routing slots to it without the thing blowing up even once. πŸ˜›
       
      And really, there’s no other Sim to introduce an object having to do with fire. πŸ˜‰ I based her mostly on book Melisandre (“her red red eyes”) and not on HBO Melisandre – I fail at making Sims who are supposed to look like real persons.

  2. WOW!!! And now I can conclude my medieval DL spree for tonight! πŸ˜‰ Thank you ever sooo much for all these MAGNIFICENT lovelies!!! (I don’t think my DL folder thanks you very much tho! :P”””” ) LOL!
    ❀ ❀ ❀

    • And thank you for downloading them! So glad you like my stuff!! πŸ˜€ (Please tell your DL folder that I’m sorry… except I’m not really. πŸ˜‰ ) And yeah, I love slapping fire effects on things, so any excuse I get (I say just as a load of fire trucks run past my house with sirens blasting). πŸ˜›

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.