Completely Invisible Burglar Alarm

Category: Electronics -> Small
Cost: $125
Poly Count: Low poly
EPs Required: None – base game compatible

I know there are invisible recolours of the base game burglar alarm, but for my medieval/fantasy Westeros ‘hood, I wanted an alarm that was completely invisible – no flashing lights, no shadow, nothing. I couldn’t find any on the sites I usually prowl (even though it’s quite possible it’s been done before – I’d be surprised if it hasn’t), so I decided to make one myself.


This is a stand-alone object, not a recol of the original burglar alarm. It functions exactly like the original, though, only it’s invisible – and I do mean invisible. As shown above, you see the footprint when you place/grab it, but that’s all. Other than that, there’s nothing to indicate where the burglar alarm is until it goes off – then you’ll see the tell-tale sound waves – so be sure to note where you put it. :)
 

Apparently, allowing object intersection only applies to objects on the ground, not on walls, so you still have to use the “moveobjects on” cheat if you want to place the burglar alarm on a part of the wall that’s already occupied. But hey, at least you won’t have to put extra effort into hiding it behind something! :)
 

Download

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nonni said,

    This is definitely a bonus for my medieval ‘hood. Thanks a million.

    • 2

      NixNivis said,

      Glad you like it, Nonni! :D That little flashing light really bugged me, so I had to do something about it. Even though there are many strange things in Westeros, there’s no electricity that can make lights flash green or red. ;) (There are things that might shine a light blue, though… and then you should run run run as fast as you can.)

  2. 3

    Ooh very cool! I love how the burglar alarm can’t even be clicked to even turn it off lol.

    • 4

      NixNivis said,

      Huh? I haven’t touched the BHAVs, only the textures and TXMTs. Like I say in the post, this burglar alarm functions exactly like the regular burglar alarm does, the only difference is that this one is invisible. Of course, you have to know where it is to be able to click on it, but it’s the same height as the other one, so if all else fail, put a non-invisible burglar alarm next to it for comparison and you should be able to find it more easily. :)

      • 5

        Whoops what I meant by my previous comment was that the original burglar alarm had no way to turn it off manually. Which always seemed odd to me.

        • 6

          NixNivis said,

          Ah, that explains why I got so confused. :D

          You know, I’ve never really thought about it, but you’re right, it is odd that you can’t turn it off. Hmm… making it so that it can at least be turned off when it’s screaming bloody murder shouldn’t be that hard… I might attempt that. Watch this space. ;)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers